PARALEL CONSTRUCTION

PARALEL CONSTRUCTION

The paired conjunctions above can be used to combine two sentences which are parallel. To combine the sentences using the paired conjunctions above,it is necessary to see the following rules :

  1. 1. Two subjects connected by both ______and take a plural verb.

Example :

–          Both my brother and my sister are here.

–          Both of us know him.

–          Both doors were open.

  1. 2. When subjects are connected by only ______ but also, either ______ or, neither ______ nor, the subject that is closer to the verb determines whether the verb is singular or plural.

Examples :

–          Not only my sister but also my parents are here.

–          Neither my mother nor my sister is here.

–          Neither my sister nor my parents are here.

  1. 3. Notice that the paralled structure in the examples.

The same grammatical form should follow each word of the pair.

Examples :

–          The research project will take both time and money.

–          Yesterday it not only rained but also snowed.

–          I’ ll take either chemistry or physics next quarter.

–          That book is neither interesting nor accurate.

Tinggalkan Balasan

